[ Bands ] [ News ] [ Tourdates ] [ Hell Over Hammaburg ] [ Contact/Imprint ] Home > > Bands > > Alte Promo > > Black Viper Hellions Of Fire BLACK VIPER Facebook Release: High Roller Records 14.09.2018 Distribution: Soulfood Info: BLACK VIPER is a new metal outfit hailing from Oslo in Norway. The band started out as a solo project in late 2012/early 2013 when drummer Cato began to write some songs inspired by traditional heavy metal and speed metal that did not suit his other band DEATHHAMMER. He takes over the story: “I recorded a couple of instrumental demo tracks in 2013 and also began recording an EP which didn’t get finished, probably because I was moving to Oslo. When I moved there, I finally got a band together and we started to rehearse and recorded and released our demo »Storming With Vengeance« in 2016. Then we played a few gigs and started to record our debut album »Hellions Of Fire« which is now finished and due for release very soon. We also lost our bassist in the process of recording the album, but we quickly found a new one and are now ready to ‘kill with power’!” “The album is pretty much a mix between heavy metal and speed metal (fast heavy metal anyway)”, continues the drummer. “If anything, then »Hellions Of Fire« sounds a bit like the first Savage Grace album.” According to Cato, BLACK VIPER are big US metal fans: “Yeah totally, at least Agent Steel. The US metal bands just sounded so larger than life and so over the top metal it hurts. Of course, without Priest and Maiden it would not have happened, but yes, we are very inspired by the massive power and supremacy of the US metal gods. The first Heathen album is a total ripper!” Although coming from Oslo, BLACK VIPER do not feel inspired by the metal heritage of Norway in any shape or form (not even by classic 1980s bands like Witchhammer): “Ha, absolutely not! Many people seem to think that black metal is the shit in Norway, but it’s not. I mean, people who are genuinely into music of course listen to good black metal, but it’s not like people gather in dark cellars with candlelights listening to Gorgoroth or something. At least many people in Oslo are open-minded music wise and that’s always a plus in my book.” Tracklist: 1. Intro / Hellions of Fire 2. Metal Blitzkrieg 3. Quest for Power / The Fountain of Might 4. Storming with Vengeance 5. Suspiria 6. Freedom's Reign 7. Nightmare Mausoleum (The Sleeper Must Awaken) Line-up: Salvador Armijo - vocals Arild M. Torp – guitars Kato Marchant - bass Cato Stormoen – drums Download 300dpi printable (4,3 MB) Download 300dpi printable (954 kB) Download 300dpi printable (1,3 MB) Download 300dpi printable (2,3 MB) [ Promotion ] [ Publishing ] [ Privacy Policy ] [BILD] [BILD] [BILD]