[ Bands ] [ News ] [ Tourdaten ] [ Hell Over Hammaburg ] [ Kontakt/Impressum ] Home > > Bands > > TREURWILG An End To Rumination TREURWILG Facebook Release: Self release / Bandcamp 22.02.2020 Info: From the depressive depths of Tilburg comes TREURWILG! A massive two-guitar attack of sadness, with haunting soundscapes and rumbling vocals, destined to drag even the happiest soul down to hell. TREURWILG is here to remind you that the world is not a happy place. TREURWILG sprouted in 2014 out of the minds of Stef Heesakkers (ex-Dark Sun Rising) and Mitchell Scheerder (ex-Druantia, ex-Stàilinn Drakk) and the line-up was soon completed with Colin Papen and Rens van Herpt (ex-Defied Sanity). While initially formed with a slight tongue-in-cheek aspect in mind, it soon turned out there was serious potential here, and the band turned to a more serious approach. After two succesfull first shows in Tilburg TREURWILG got invited by fellow Tilburgian doomsters Faal to support them on their split-album releaseshow with UK doom powerhouse Eye of Solitude. The show would be recorded and was later released as a live EP. Barely a year in existence and with already a release under the belt, the doors would soon open wide… In the summer of 2016 TREURWILG entered Double Noise studios in Tilburg to record the first full-length album. "Departure" was released on October 28 and premiered on the Dutch Doom Days. While firmly rooted in doom metal, "Departure" also showed traces of funeral doom, sludge, and even post-metal. "Departure" heralded the move to more and bigger shows, and TREURWILG played with many established names in the doom genre, including festival appearances on Sodom Metal Fest, Solarfall, Strudelfest, From Dusk Till Doom, and Black Ritual Fest, sharing the stage with names like Esoteric, Monolithe, The Great Old Ones, Vetrar Draugurinn, Taake, Gg:ull, and Apostle Of Solitude. In 2018 multiple shows were played under the name of Lowlands Doom Pack, together with Dutch doom bands Beyond Our Ruins, Façade, and Belgians Marche Funèbre. Slowly but surely new music was formed and the plans for a follow-up were solidified. With a small weekend tour with Urza, Into The Arcane, and Svarthart the "Departure" cycle ended and de band once more entered Double Noise Studio to record album #2. "An End To Rumination" is chapter 2 in the TREURWILG saga. While still a logical successor to the debut, "An End To Rumination" expands and experiments with the style and sees the band venturing into more directions, while still keeping the roots firmly into the doom soil. Influences from black- and post-metal are embedded within the depressive melodies and dirging tempos. The funeral doom, while a bit forced on "Departure", is embraced and naturally executed on tracks like "Myosotis" and "In Ruin And Misery". A few things are the same as on "Departure". The album contains five songs, which were recorded live in the studio, with minimal overdubs and no studio magic. Yet there is no shortage of TREURWILG's signature massive riffs, oppressive melodies, deep guttural vocals, and slow crawling tempo. The result is still crushing doom metal. "An End To Rumination" is a concept album, and tells the tale of a human and its fears. It draws on self-reflection and the darkness within. Each song is a story of fear and weakness and the courage to conquer those fears. The lyrics were each written by one bandmember, with one a collaborative effort. "An End To Rumination" is a continuous piece, the songs stitched together by haunting, and beautiful keyboard pieces composed by Faal- and Fenadorn keyboardist Catía André Almeida. The concept is vocalized by Apostle of Solitude-guitarist Steve Janiak. The beautiful coverphoto, as well as the booklet were created by Vera Kuijpers, who also designed the cover for "Departure". "An End To Rumination" is the result of three years of gathering experience, making friends, and perfecting their craft. It’s the next step in the growing cycle of TREURWILG. "Shallow Pools Of Grief" - Official Track Stream: https://treurwilg.bandcamp.com/track/shallow-pools-of-grief Tracklist: 1. The Fragility Of Mankind 2. In Ruin And Misery 3. Myosotis 4. I 5. Shallow Pools Of Grief Live: 22-02-2020: Tilburg, Little Devil w/ Faal and Fading Bliss 29-02-2020: Haunting The Castle w/ Saturnus, Ennui and more Line-up: Rens van Herpt - Vocals, guitar Stef Heesakkers - Guitar Colin Papen - Bass Mitchell Scheerder - Drums [BILD] Download 300dpi printable (5,1 MB) [BILD] Download 300dpi printable (7,3 MB) [BILD] Download 300dpi printable (6,6 MB) [BILD] Download 300dpi printable (393 kB) [BILD] Download 300dpi printable (75 kB) [ Promotion ] [ Publishing ] [ Datenschutz ] [BILD] [BILD]