[ Bands ] [ News ] [ Tourdaten ] [ Hell Over Hammaburg ] [ Kontakt/Impressum ] Home > > Bands > > Archiv > > Insomnium Fotos Interview Across The Dark Insomnium www.insomnium.net Release: Candlelight Records / Soulfood 11.09.2009 (GER) Info: AMAZING FOURTH STUDIO ALBUM FROM FINNISH MELODIC DEATH METALLERS A PINCH OF DOOM, SOME THRASHING, A WHOLE LOT OF TIMELESS MELODIES AND PROGRESSIVE TWISTS AND THERE YOU HAVE IT: INGREDIENTS OF THE MASTERPIECE THE PERFECT MARRIAGE OF SCANDINAVIAN DEATH METAL WITH TRADITIONAL FINNISH TUNES Over the last decade Insomnium has slowly but surely made themselves a household name among melodic death metal bands. Formed in 1997 in a somnolent town of Joensuu, in eastern Finland, these stern men have since redefined the boundaries of the genre. Two highly acclaimed demos set the standard and in 2001 the band signed to UK label Candlelight Records. The band’s debut album In the Halls of Awaiting (2002) introduced a young and fierce band that combined aggression and violent riffing to melancholic atmosphere. A marriage of Scandinavian death metal and traditional Finnish tunes, catchy but progressive, melodic but brutal these have been the bands trademark ever since. The debut album was praised all over the metal world but the band still remained Finland’s best kept secret. With the bands 2nd album Since the Day It All Came Down (2004) the band moved further from the beaten paths of the genre. The album was darker, more challenging and the songs took meandering pathways: a rewarding journey for those who dare to take it. Exaltations followed, the prestige grew. In 2005 Insomnium made its first real tour outside Finland as they hit the shores of the UK. The road had been long, narrow and rocky, but now things started to roll. The third album Above the Weeping World (2006) was the breakthrough. Compositions and arrangements had reached a new pinnacle and the overall sound was heavier and richer. The album was tighter, meaner and more menacing than ever. The album took the 9th spot in the Finnish album charts, Mortal Share video was aired on MTV and Insomnium went out on long and extensive tours in Europe and North America with bands like Amorphis, Katatonia, Enslaved and Satyricon. New album Across the Dark (2009) shows a band that knows its strengths but isn’t afraid to evolve. The main centre of the music is still melodic death metal but new elements are giving it a unique flavour. Keyboards are overwhelmingly epic and there are some stunning clean vocals by Jules Naveri. Bits of folk metal, a pinch of doom, some thrashing, a whole lot of timeless melodies and progressive twists and there you have it: ingredients of a masterpiece. Tracklist: 1. Equivalence 2. Down With The Sun 3. Where The Last Wave Broke 4. The Harrowing Years 5. Against The Stream 6. The Lay Of Autumn 7. Into The Woods 8. Weighted Down With Sorrow Bonus tracks only included on the special edition: 9. The New Beginning 10. Into The Evernight [ Promotion ] [ Publishing ] [ Datenschutz ] [BILD] [BILD]