[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Nightmare

Genetic Disorder


Regain Records / Soulfood
30.11.2007 (Germany)


NIGHTMARE was formed in 1979... Their break, however, arrived in March 1983 after opening for Def Leppard “Pyromania” era in Grenoble in front of over 4000 fans. The band quickly signed to Ebony Records the following year to record their debut, “Waiting For The Twilight”… The album propelled them into the Japanese charts, drawing the attention of Virgin Records, who released it in Greece.
In preparation for their forthcoming release, the quintet hired vocalist Jean-Marie Boix (ex-Bronx), bringing new momentum to the band with his powerful voice. With this new addition, Jean Strippoli (guitar), Nicolas De Dominicis (guitar), Yves Campion (bass), Jo Amore (drums) entered the studio for the second time to record, “Power Of The Universe”.
Shortly thereafter, NIGHTMARE left Ebony Records and “Power Of The Universe” was re-released in France by Dream Records, while the band prepared their third LP. Unfortunately, the collapse of the company and financial difficulties impeded its release. Moreover, Jean-Marie Boix was forced to leave the band due to serious illness.
We are now in 1987 : Spectrum Management insist on their hiring an English-speaking replacing singer, who eventually turns out to be the Scottish Tom Jackson (ex-Praying Mantis, Bernie Marsden' S.O.S., Zenith...), and proves to be the perfect fit...
A new band comes to life, with only Yves Campion and Nicolas De Dominicis remaining from the original line-up... The band records a two track demo-tape and plays a few shows in France. It also gains a little success in Britain, with a memorable show at London's Royal Standard.
Unfortunately, musical differences arise among the members of the band, and NIGHTMARE has to leave the foreground of the French musical scene, in which it had gained a leading role, and of which it was bound to become the leader...

NIGHTMARE reformed for 1999 mini album “Astral Deliverance” issued by Adipocere Records. Jo Amore traded in his drum kit for the microphone and passed the sticks to his brother David. Nicolas De Dominicis and Jeannot Strippoli accepted the guitar responsibilities, as did and Stéphane Rabilloud the keyboards, while Yves Campion strapped on his bass guitar to complete the new line-up. The record was dedicated to the band’s late frontman J.M. Boix who had died tragically in April of the same year.
The band's previous recording efforts were re-released with a substantial amount of bonus material, and in 2000 a double live CD “DeLIVErance”was also released to document the band's career and memorable performance at their 30th October 1999 reunion show which boasted cover versions of Accept’s “Metal Heart” and Sortilege’s theme tune, complete with a guesting Patrick Liotard of Presence…

During NIGHTMARE's reunion campaign, several labels expressed interest in signing the band. NIGHTMARE finally opted to sign to Napalm Records in late 2000.
In June 2001, they entered Soundsuite studio with Norwegian producer Terje Refsnes at the helm for the recording of their third album, “Cosmovision”, famed French guitar-hero Patrick Rondat would guest on the track “Spirit Of The Sunset” released in October 2001 and followed by a tour with Saxon in France and Italy, as well as a gigs guesting for Grave Digger on their “ Roads to Nasca…Cosmovision tour”. However, in February Jean Stripolli and Stephane Rabilloud opted out and NIGHTMARE duly inducted Alex Hilbert, a young guitar hero, as replacement.
In this incantation, the band put in an appearance at “New Jersey’s Metal Meltdown IV”. With this unforgettable performance NIGHTMARE became the first French heavy metal band to play North America in over two decade.

Back in France, NIGHTMARE opened for Blind Guardian and also appeared in further cult summer festivals like “Rock Machina” in Spain, “Skeleton Bash” in Austria, and Germany’s prestigious “Wacken Open Air” extravaganza for the second time. The press praised NIGHTMARE's live performances and with the momentum of sweet success.
NIGHTMARE entered Soundsuite studio with Norwegian producer Terje Refsnes, once again, to record a conceptual album entitled “Silent Room” emerged in October of 2003, the whole affair rounded out a cover of Vicious Rumors “Ship Of Fools”…
European package tour dates for January of 2004 found the group in league with Dutch gothic act After Forever, Sweden Amaran and Spanish Dark Moor. A major gig came with a support to Judas Priest in our hometown at le Summun in Grenoble in June and another performance at “Headbanger’s Open Air” in Germany during July…the twice gigs unfortunately was cancelled “for different reasons”. The same month the band amicably severed ties with Napalm records.

End of 2004, another co-founding member, Nicolas De Dominicis departed, being superseded by a young guitar virtuoso Franck Millileri.
March of 2005 saw NIGHTMARE signing a new deal with Swedish label Regain Records. The band entered a new time in Soundsuite studio with, for the third time on the helm, Terje Refsnes, in April and May to work on an album with title of “The Dominion Gate” . Ex-Pretty Maids guitarist Ricky Marx would guest in the studio, as did After Forever singer Floor Jansen and grunter/guitarist Sander Gommans.
To promote the album, the track “A Taste Of Armageddon” was given the video treatment by director Johann Porcher.
A release party concert was held for “The Dominion Gate” on 9th September at l’Art Scène in St Martin D’Heres.
NIGHTMARE have already confirmed a few concerts including appearances at “RaismesFest” (Northern France) on 10th September with also Sonata Arctica, Anathema, Symphorce...etc, as well as co-headlining show with After Forever in Paris, at La Loco on 20th November for “The Vibes In Paris Festival”.
NIGHTMARE have also made a special headlining promo show in their hometown, Grenoble / Crolles on 5th November before embarking from January 27th 2006, on a full European tour once again with After Forever and Magica from Romania. This tour has visited countries like Holland, Belgium, the UK, France, Spain, Switzerland, Italy… Then it was the right time for NIGHTMARE to make several summer festivals appearances especially at “Evolution Festival” in Italy, “Hellfest” in France, “ Heavy Metal Maniacs” in Holland culminating to an exceptional headlining show at the Koltura Club in Tel Aviv (Israël)...
After a few months rest, it was once again the time to prepare a new album, this one to be recorded in July 2007 at famous Fredman studio in Sweden with Fredrik Nordström on the helm… A big step forward once again for the band who also signed with Blue Steel Agency and MDM Concerts in Germany for international booking… Expect a blast with lots of concerts in perspective !


01 - Nothing Left Behind
02 - Battleground For Suicide
03 - Queen Of Love & Pain
04 - Conspiracy
05 - Leader Of The Masquerade
06 - Final Procession
07 - The Dominion Gate (Part II)
08 - The Winds Of Sin
09 - Forsaken Child
10 - A Thrill Of Death
11 - Wicked White Demon
12 - Dawn Of Darkness


Yves Campion ( Bass & backing vocals )
David Amore ( Drums )
Jo Amore ( Lead Vocals )
Alex Hilbert ( Guitars )
Franck Milleliri ( Guitars )

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]