[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Joseph Tholl

Devil's Drum


High Roller Records


Joseph Tholl started his musical career playing guitar for Enforcer. He quit in 2016. At the same time his other band, namely Black Trip, which he was singing for, turned into Vojd. Besides, Joseph Toll is also part of the touring line-up of Robert Pehrsson’s Humbucker.

And it was indeed Robert Pehrsson, who gave Tholl the idea for his first solo album entitled »Devil’s Drum«: “Me and Robert Pehrsson have been working very close to each other over the last couple of years, and he has assisted me throughout the making of this album. He also did the mixing which I’m very pleased with. Robert Eriksson (Hellacopters) plays drums on most of the songs, and then Jakob Ljungberg (Second Sun, ex-Tribulation), Stipen Karlsson (Merciless, Dia Psalma) and myself play drums on one song each. Other guests are Tobias Lindkvist (Enforcer), Pontus Tahir (Dia Psalma) and Malin Stensson.”

“I wanted to step outside of the box from what Iv’e done previously,” continues the guitarist/singer/drummer. “For a long time I had the idea of making an album free from restrains, to write music without being too caught up in a certain genre. That’s why it became a solo album, I wanted to make sure there would be no compromises on this album. It can be a virtue to create music together with others, but this time I felt I needed to do it all by myself. I started recording it in April 2018.”
The first track on the album is called "It's Just Rock'n'Roll", so does that sum up the entire record? ”’It’s Just Rock’n’Roll’ is a sarcastic title,” explains Tholl. “It’s about dedicating yourself truly to something that becomes a part of your life, music for example. To remain a passionate soul instead of giving up on yourself in order to fall in with the system. Furthermore, »Devil’s Drum« is quite far from a conventional rock’n’roll album which is also part of the sarcasm in the opening track. I suppose there’s parts on this album where you can recognize the 70’s style that Black Trip had for example, although this album is inspired by all kinds of music, not only vintage hard rock but also more contemporary stuff.”

* Mixed by Robert Pehrsson at Studio Humbucker

* Mastered by Patrick W. Engel / Temple Of Disharmony

* Artwork by Joanna Bagge


1. It's Just Rock'n'Roll
2. They Fell from the Sky
3. Follow the Fire
4. Black Birds
5. Devil's Drum
6. In Eternal Rest
7. The Passage by the Sea
8. I'm the Machine
9. Through Endless Skies

Photo Credit: Joanna Bagge

Download 300dpi printable (3,6 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (2,4 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (809 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (860 kB)

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]