[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Quartz

Fear No Evil


High Roller Records
Distribution: Soulfood


“Once you get involved in music, it's forever in your blood,” says original QUARTZ guitarist Mick Hopkins. Birmingham-based QUARTZ are widely regarded as one of the most enduring outfits of the glorious New Wave Of British Heavy Metal. This is not entirely true, as the band actually pre-dates the movement by several years (with Bandylegs, direct forerunner of Quartz, having been formed in 1973!). During their heydays in the 70s and 80s, QUARTZ released three studio albums: the self-titled debut in 1977 (Jet Records), »Stand Up And Fight« (MCA) at the peak of the NWOBHM movement in 1980 and finally the more commercial/AOR sounding »Against All Odds« (Heavy Metal Records) in 1983.

So is it really a big surprise that QUARTZ are back together again hitting the scene with a brand new studio album entitled »Fear No Evil«? Mick Hopkins doesn’t think so: “Not surprised really! Once we reformed, everybody was keen to record again,although with very limited resources. We started playing together again back in 2011, for a cancer charity. We had a good audience reaction and went on to do gigs in Germany and Sweden and had the same thing happen, so we just had to record again!”

"»Fear No Evil« is just a straight heavy metal rock album, delivered with enthusiasm,” adds the guitarist. With David Garner the band has hired a new singer. And he does a great job. Mick Hopkins thinks so too: “David is a great asset to the band, quite a character, he knows his job, a welcome member. It is hard to describe him in comparison to our former vocalists Mick Taylor and Geoff Bate – all three are very good in their own special ways.”

All in all, »Fear No Evil« is a mighty fine album, and it’s quite timeless as well. It may have taken QUARTZ 33 long years to come up with the successor to the ill-fated »Against All Odds« record, but »Fear No Evil« was definitely worth the wait. A bona fide, timeless NWOBHM album – performed by outstanding musicians.


1. Fear No Evil (4:32)
2. Rock Bottom (4:33)
3. The Stalker (4:34)
4. Rapture (0:35)
5. Zombie Resurrection (4:53)
6. Barren Land (0:53)
7. Walking On Holy Water (4:57)
8. Dangerous Game (4:02)
9. Born To Rock The Nation (3:34)
10. Riot In The City (5:30)
11. Dead Man's World (5:37)
12. Scream At The Devil (5:11)


David Garner – vocals
Mick Hopkins – guitar
Geoff Nicholls - guitar / keyboards/ vocals
Derek Arnold- bass
Malcolm Cope – drums

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]