[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Eddy Malm Band

Northern Lights


No Remorse Records
Distribution: H'art (G/A/S) + Plastic Head (UK & Rest of Europe)


Eddy Malm gained success with Swedish metal pioneers Heavy Load in the early 80’s. Before these deeds he was lead singer in Highbrow, a hard rock band that would later feature future stars Yngwie Malmsteen, Mats "Dalton" Dahlberg (Treat, Dalton), Eero Koivisto (Red Baron, later successful designer) and guitarist Christopher Ståhl (Power). Heavy Load gained momentum due to their true commitment to their fans and via their self-financed, successful albums, all of which are regarded metal classics today. After Heavy Load, Eddy tried his hand with Challenger, a more pop sounding project that included late Heavy Load bass player Andreas Fritz. After that: Nothing. None of the members from Sweden’s metal pioneers released anything for more than 30 years.

In 1998, guitarist Per Hesselrud (a Highbrow fan since the age of 14) approached Eddy with the aim of making a comeback album, just because he admired Eddy’s voice and his heartfelt lyrics. The two guys quickly became friends. Many evenings were spent talking through life in general, music and the possibility of a comeback. A few shaky tryouts were attempted but without greater success, one exception being Janne Stark´s “The Heaviest Encyclopedia Of Swedish Hard Rock Ever” in 2013. The encyclopedia featured a bonus-CD with a demo version of “Turn it down”, recorded in 2003. This song got quite a few record companies interested, Christos Papadatos and No Remorse Records being one of them. Eddy and the band decided to go with Christos.

The album took almost two years to finish but it was worth the wait. All the songs evolved slowly and gracefully and the album became like an extension of the classic hard rock albums from the late 70’s and early 80’s. Eddy’s vocals, the music and the lyrics became just like a vintage wine.
This album is NOT Heavy Load, it is Eddy Malm Band in 2016. The album contains a few, Eddy-written Heavy Load and Highbrow songs but recorded with new arrangements and a more modern sound. This is honest, heartfelt Eddy Malm with loads of input from Per Hesselrud, Tomas Malmfors and Micke Kerslow. Rock on!

"Heart Of A Warrior" - Official lyric video: youtu.be/vMrpblHICD0


1. Saturday Night
2. Heart Of A Warrior
3. I Had Enough
4. Turn It Down
5. Nasty Women
6. Dark Nights
7. Get Out Of Here
8. Danger
9. A Loser
10. Northern Lights


Eddy Malm: Lead vocals
Per Hesselrud: Lead and rythm guitars, EBow, background vocals
Tomas Malmfors: Bass, background vocals
Micke Kerslow: Drums, percussion, background vocals

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]