[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Protector

Excessive Outburst Of Depravity


High Roller Records
1. July 2022 (CD) ; Vinyl LP later / tba


Neither viruses at large nor, on a shorter scale, flighty musical trends can stop PROTECTOR. In fact, it seems that the thrash veterans have been delivering the goods in a more consistent fashion than ever since their official reformation in Sweden under their original name in 2011.

Band leader Martin Missy tends to agree. “I think all the different line-ups were on the same level, only this one has been together for a longer time than any other.” Which leads us to the Teutonic-Scandinavian unit´s new effort “Excessive Outburst of Depravity,” sounding as unmistakably PROTECTOR as the creative process was business as usual in an ideal sense. “Everybody wrote riffs on their own, which we then played to each other and turned into songs.”

Speaking of which, ´Shackled By Total Control´ has socio-critical undertones whereas closer ´Morse Mania´ harks back to ´Caught in a Morse´ from Martin´s 2007 demo with Talion. The WWII-inspired ´Referat IV B 4´ (“National Socialism was the worst thing ever for Germany and Europe as a whole – never forget!”) and the sinister crawl of ´Open Skies And Endless Seas´ are classic history fare.

And while the pitch-black ´Toiling in Sheol´ follows hot on the heels of “Summon the Hordes” (2019), the epic melodicism of ´Cleithrophobia´may come as a mild surprise. Overall, “Excessive Outburst of Depravity” will enthuse thrash maniacs worldwide thanks to PROTECTOR´s sheer down-to-earthness. “We release an album every three years while staying with our jobs and families,” Missy concludes. “It´s a good arrangement for all of us.”

Mixed and mastered by Patrick W. Engel at TEMPLE OF DISHARMONY in December 2021.

"Pandemic Misery" - Official Lyric Video: https://youtu.be/fQEmhuQXewA


01. Last Stand Hill
02. Pandemic Misery
03. Referat IV B 4
04. Open Skies and Endless Seas
05. Infinite Tyranny
06. Perpetual Blood Oath
07. Thirty Years of Perdition
08. Cleithrophobia
09. Toiling in Sheol
10. Shackled by Total Control
11. Morse Mania


Martin Missy - Vocals
Michael Carlsson - Guitar
Mathias Johansson - Bass
Carl-Gustav Karlsson - Drums

Download 300dpi printable (7,1 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (4,3 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (4,1 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (1,6 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (150 kB)

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]