[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Porcupine Tree

Nil Recurring
Porcupine Tree


Peaceville Records / SPV
February 2008


Following the release of the critically-acclaimed Fear of a Blank Planet album and the success of their 2007 North American tour comes Porcupine Tree's latest offering 'Nil Recurring'. The mini-album (29 minutes of music) was written during the 'Fear Of A Blank Planet' sessions, completed over the Summer of 2007, and is now presented as a cohesive, self-contained Porcupine Tree work in its own right, set for general release on February 18th, 2008.

The title track features Robert Fripp on lead guitar, and the album moves through the full Porcupine Tree spectrum of atmospheric ambience, melodic hooks, and crushing riffs.

This edition is packaged in a deluxe super jewel case in textured slipcase.

Porcupine Tree is regarded as one of the most impressive experimental/progressive/psychedelic rock bands to emerge from the UK since their inception in 1991, having enjoyed a successful recording career spanning over 15 years.

Frontman Steven Wilson is also known for his recent work with Aviv Geffen as Blackfield and for his production and musical contributions on the Opeth albums 'Blackwater Park', 'Deliverance' and 'Damnation'.


1. Nil Recurring
2. Normal
3. Cheating The Polygraph
4. What Happens Now ?


Porcupine Tree are unquestionably one of the most difficult-to-categorize and innovative bands out there. The music is breathtaking, ranging from psychedelic trip-hop to progressive metal, and a compendium of other sounds in between.

The band is fronted by Steven Wilson, who also is well-known for his work producing other artists; from Swedish progressive metal group Opeth, to Norwegian chanteuse Anja Garbarek. He also has several other projects, including No-Man, Bass Communion, and the highly acclaimed collaboration with Israeli musician Aviv Geffen, Blackfield.

Porcupine Tree was founded as a self-indulgent creative outlet for Wilson, and the first major release was ‘On the Sunday of Life...’ in 1992, an album of psychedelia and studio experiments which bears little relation to the band's current sound. From here, Wilson expanded the sound, creating the progressive rock/ambient trance fusion on the 30-minute long single “Voyage 34.” One of the only constants in Porcupine Tree’s music is how it continues to evolve and confront the expectations of the band's fans from album to album.

In late 1993, the solo project became a band, as Colin Edwin (bass), Chris Maitland (drums), and Richard Barbieri (keyboards) were recruited to enable Porcupine Tree to perform live. Richard had previously been a member of experimental 80's bands, Japan. The first real band album recorded was ‘Signify’ in 1996, which was followed by ‘Stupid Dream’ (1999), a breakthrough album which saw the band move into a more song-orientated direction. ‘Lightbulb Sun’ continued along that song-oriented tack, but, never content to rest on their laurels, Porcupine Tree changed course again for their next release, shuffling their line up for the first (and to date, only) time. Chris Maitland departed and was replaced by Gavin Harrison in 2002, as the band signed a new international recording deal with Lava/Atlantic Records.

The band’s first two major label album releases were ‘In Absentia’ and ‘Deadwing,’ Heavier than previous releases, the albums have found favour with older fans and introduced Porcupine Tree to a whole new audience. This new audience has continued to grow with the release of ‘Fear Of A Blank Planet’ album on Roadrunner Records in 2007.
Universally lauded the album has been described by Q as "a genuinely thrilling rock record," and as “the first mandatory album purchase of 2007” by Classic Rock, who also awarded the album the prestigious Album Of The Year award at the recent Classic Rock Awards, while it moved Mojo to state ‘Porcupine Tree’s time has come.’
Another successful world tour has followed and in February 2008 the new mini-album ‘Nil Recurring’ is receiving a general release from Peaceville Records.

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]