[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Lumsk

Det Vilde Kor


Tabu Recordings / Soulfood


Norwegian folk rock ensemble, LUMSK returns with a smooth musical concoction – ‘Det Vilde Kor’. Written entirely by pianist Espen W. Godø, ‘Det Vilde Kor’ is a symphonic celebration of author Knut Hamsun’s homonymous poem collection. «The poems are very musical as they are,» enthuses guitarist, Eystein Garberg. «We’ve strengthened the atmosphere of each poem through our music. We set our standards high when we chose to put music to such a highly regarded author but we feel we
managed to do a great job of it.»

Deeply rooted in Norwegian folklore and dubbed the Norwegian equivalent to CIRCULUS, LUMSK added a string quartet, backing vocalists, clarinet, oboe, flugelhorn and accordion that turned 'Det Vilde Kor’ into a more melodious and ambitious masterpiece than any of their previous work. Hard-working and ambitious, the band planned their next album’s direction right after ‘Troll’ was released. «I borrowed one of Knut Hamsun’s collections when we were looking for lyrics material after ’Troll’,» Eystein continues. « I read ‘Markens Grøde’ but simultaneously took a glimpse at ‘Det Vilde Kor’. I understood straight away that this would turn out to be perfect for the next album’s lyrics! The theme is similar to what we have done in the past and to be allowed to present lyrical content of this kind to a new audience means a lot to us.»

The collaboration with Grammy-nominated Norwegian vocalist, Ola Bremnes on single, ‘Om Hundrede Aar Er Alting glemt’ was a natural choice. «I know Ola personally,» quips singer Stine Mari Langstrand. «And his voice provides a nice contrast to mine so I was sure that he would be perfect.»

«I am impressed at how grandly this band works,» Bremnes enthused. «It was fun to be part of the recording. LUMSK approach Hamsun in a refreshing way.» LUMSK are working on setting up a tour right after the album is released in Europe.


1. Diset Kvæld
2. Om Hundrede Aar Er Alting Glemt
3. Høstnat
4. Paa Hvælvet
5. Lad Spille Med Vaar Over Jorden
6. Duttens Vise
7. I - Min Kærest er som den
8. II -Og du vil vide
9. III - Jeg har det
10. IV - Se Natten er Livet
11. Godnat Herinde
12. Skærgaardsø

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]