drucken    mit Bildern    zurück
Down With The Nails
website tba.

Label: Tyrant Syndicate Productions / Peaceville
Distribution: SPV
Date: 04.08.2006

The German band OLD was formed in 2003 by Reaper (vocals), Doomhammer (guitar/drums) and Horus (bass guitar). The band was born as a dedication to the old-school Black Metal sound of the 1980’s and early 90’s. Bands like Celtic Frost/Hellhammer, Slaughter, Bathory, Possessed, Darkthrone, Mayhem, Venom, Sodom and Destruction were always a major influence.

In 2004 OLD recorded their “Blood Skull” rehearsal tape, originally limited to 50 copies, but this amount soon increased due to demand. Even legends like Nocturno Culto and Fenriz of Darkthrone were really impressed by this band, who were truly keeping the spirit of old-school metal alive.

OLD existed purely as a rehearsal band until they recorded the “Nocturnal Ritual” 7” in summer 2004. The EP was released by Undercover Records in 2005 and was limited to 500 copies. The name OLD was spread quickly throughout the worldwide underground scene.

Due to the response to the “Blood Skull” tape and the 7” vinyl, they had their first gig in spring 2005. Since then they have played shows and festivals in countries such as Norway and The Netherlands with bands such as Pentacle, Thee Plague of Gentleman, Toxic Holocaust, Enthroned, Kampfar, Zarathustra and many more.

In the beginning of 2005 OLD signed to Tyrant Syndicate Productions (the label run by the Darkthrone members and home to Norwegian black/thrash metal outfit, Aura Noir), a sub-label of Peaceville Records, and recorded their first full-length album “Down With The Nails” towards the end of 2005. As a session musician, the drums were done by Mersus (of Deströyer 666 and Zarathustra), a long time friend of the band.

In spring of 2006 they finally found a new full-time member on the drums, Iron Tyrant, who is also the vocalist in German Thrash Metal band, Hellish Crossfire.

For fans of raw old school black metal in the style of Darkthrone and Celtic Frost.

Reaper – Vocals
Horus – Bass Guitar
Doomhammer – Lead Guitar
Baron – Session Guitar
Mersus – Session Drums

1. Black Jewel Throne
2. Blood Skull
3. Lust in Red
4. Under the Sign of Death
5. Empire in Flames
6. A Knife
7. Triumph of Hell
8. Scream for Hell
9. Down with the Nails