drucken    mit Bildern    zurück
Silent Stage
website under construction


“No future for Finland’s dreaming”, to slightly misquote Mr Johnny Rotten… except there might be after all. The stories told on the new Rapture album may convey a hopeless message, but that is one adjective which just doesn’t apply when speaking of the quality of delivery on “Silent Stage”

Two albums down and it still rains in Helsinki… Rapture may be something of an undiscovered gem, but album three proves they are here to stay. Who knows, with a little luck Rapture ought to see their small but loyal fanbase enjoy some serious (and well-deserved) growth.

To call “Silent Stage” mere melodic death metal is a convenient half-truth made entirely irrelevant by a few spins of the disc. Comparisons to the “Brave Murder Day” era Katatonia or classic Paradise Lost are not entirely baseless, yet Rapture are by no means painting themselves to a corner: sipping deep from the same cup of melancholy just happens to come with the territory. The emphasis is squarely on music and not flashy individual performances, as the band would probably be quick to point out. Rapture do not muck around with a thousand styles either. “Silent Stage” is a solid album by a band confident in their craft.

Rapture paint with bleak shades yet with clarity second to none. The main songwriter Tomi Ullgren’s soaring guitar leads are tempered with powerful death growls courtesy of Petri Eskelinen, a nod to their underground roots perhaps, yet they do not shy away from clearer vocals should the occasion so demands. The beguiling mid-tempo employed is a slow acting poison: you will be hooked before you know. In live situation Rapture reproduce their timeless sound with a line-up of eight personnel.

Rapture are far from being the hype of the day but for your fix of quality downer rock/metal, they remain the premium choice. Look no further.


1. Misery 24 / 7
2. Past Nightmares
3. I Am Complete
4. For the Ghosts of Our Time
5. Silent Chrysalis Stage
6. Dreaming of Oblivion
7. The Times We Bled
8. Cold on My Side
9. Completion


Petri Eskelinen - vocals
Henri Villberg - vocals
Tomi Ullgren - guitar
Aleksi Ahokas – guitar
Sami Hinkka - bass
Samuel Ruotsalainen - drums


Futile (CD Spikefarm 1999)
Songs For The Withering (CD Spikefarm 2002)
Silent Stage (CD Spikefarm 2005)