drucken    mit Bildern    zurück
Death’s Procession


Kemado Records / Cooperative Music


“Cult heaviness” -SPIN

“A dual-guitar riff-fest inspired by NWOBHM and 70’s proto-doom.” - -Revolver

“You know you’re playing a good set when your music not only commands the attention of the likes of J Mascis and Matt Pike, but you’re sounding so tight that it compels the two guitar greats to air shred like a couple of Maiden fans circa 1980.” -Decibel

Rooted in hardcore punk but preferring to cruise in outer space, the lysergic hessians of Saviours have always brought a ton of swing and swagger to their forward-charging heavy metal. The band melds sounds from the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal, progressive rock, and proto-doom, and delivers it all with a snarling West Coast hardcore edge. The result is an absolute beast of a sound that is all Saviours’ own.

Since the 2006 release of Saviours’ first album, Crucifire, the band has worked relentlessly, touring North America, Europe, and Japan with the likes of Mastodon, The Sword, High On Fire, Saint Vitus, and Witchcraft. In a few short years, Saviours have risen to become stalwarts of the world’s metal scene, ambassadors of an aggressive-yet-stoned West Coast vibe, inspired by the 70’s but totally real and relevant in 2011.

Kemado Records now proudly announces the release of Saviours’ fourth album, Death’s Procession.

Death’s Procession is a rebirth of sorts. The years of making music and touring the world under the Saviours banner have refined founding members Austin Barber (guitar, vocals) and Scott Batiste (drums) into a killing machine and have helped them re-envision their musical path. With guitarist/vocalist Sonny Reinhardt (ex-Watch Them Die) and new bassist Carson Binks (ex-Parchman Farm), Death’s Procession sees Barber and Batiste reaching back to their early musical inspirations and tearing into the future with newfound lust. Batiste states, “The main influence on this album was to go back to where we started - Sabbath, Maiden, Motorhead, Thin Lizzy...”

Lyrically, Death’s Procession centers around the concept of mankind’s inevitable march toward its destiny. Batiste elaborates, “The whole record is a trek through Earth’s demise which everyone contributes to, oblivious or not. It’s a procession toward death. The world has gone insane. Humans have become apathetic, greedy, self-centered, over-medicated, delusional parasites in a filthy, drained and deflated world. It’s hopeless now, too far gone. Now we wait. That's what this record is about. Earth’s possession and death's procession.”

Death’s Procession was recorded by Phil Manley (of Trans Am and The Fucking Champs) at Lucky Cat in San Francisco. Guest appearances come from Earthless’ Isaiah Mitchell (guitar on “God’s End") and tattoo artist Tim Lehi (guitar on “Earth’s Possession & Death’s Procession.”) None other than Church Of Satan founder Anton Lavey makes an appearance of sorts -- says Batiste, “the crazy organ sounding thing through the beginning is Austin’s guitar thru Anton Lavey's old black Leslie, purchased from Lavey's estate sale... shit sounds absolutely terrifying in person.”

Death’s Procession’s striking black-and-white cover art comes courtesy of tattoo artist Derrick Snodgrass.

Leading up to the release of Death’s Procession, Kemado will release two ultra-limited, vinyl-only 12” EPs, featuring tracks from the album with other unreleased songs.

Saviours continue their path of tireless world touring, hitting the road this fall for a full North American tour with Weedeater, followed by a full European tour.


Austin Barber - guitar, lead vocals
Scott Batiste - drums
Sonny Reinhardt - guitar, vocals
Carson Binks - bass


1) The Eye Obscene
2) To the Grave Possessed
3) Fire of Old
4) Earthen Dagger
5) Crete’n
6) Gods End
7) Earth’s Possession & Death’s Procession
8) Walk to the Light