drucken    mit Bildern    zurück


Witching Hour Productions
May 2011


Mastiphal was founded by Flauros and Cymeris in 1991. After a year of playing as Dissolution, they decided to change the band’s name to Mastiphal and chose a new musical direction. Along with Christ Agony, Behemoth and Graveland, Mastiphal was one of the first hordes of the Polish black metal scene. However, the music offered by the band was remarkably different than a classical black metal as the band used keyboards. The first demo “Sowing Profane Seed” was recorded in Fors studio in Czech Republic and released by Baron Records in 1994. A year later, Mastiphal recorded its first album “For a Glory of All Evil Spirits, Rise for Victory” which was released by Baron in Poland and Nocturn Records in Europe. Shortly after releasing the album, three members left the band. Flauros and Cymeris were joined by Paul (drums). As a trio, the band recorded a track “Summoned Howling” ,released by Full Moon Productions on a compilation “A Tribute to Hell. Satanic Rites”, and “Mag-Sex”, a cover of Polish trash metal band Kat , released by Pagan Records as a part of “Black Hosts – a Tribute to Kat”. In 1998, Vox Mortis released the last Mastiphal’s compilation record “Seed of Victory”. Soon after, the paths of Flauros and Cymeris diverged as they failed to reach a musical compromise.

After 10 years break, Mastiphal is back! In 2009, Witching Hour Productions released “Damnatio Memoriae”, a double digipack including all Mastiphal’s records and a few live tracks from 94. The band was joined by Daamr (guitar), Oppressor (guitar, bass) and Senator (drums) and started recording a new album. In the meantime, Mastiphal came back to the stage supporting Mayhem during their tour in Poland in 2010.

The new album “Parvzya” will contain ten tracks evoking an unforgotten aura of eighties and nineties black metal. It was recorded in Maq Studio and Hunted House (Poland) and mixed in the Swedish Necromorbus, which is well known for cooperation with bands such as Watain, Funeral Mist and Destroyer 666. “Parvzya” will be released as digibook and LP gatefold by Witching Hour. Live premiere of the new tracks will take place at the Silesian Massacre Festival, where Mastiphal will play with Dodheims Gard, Entombed and Kataklysm. The band will also play a gig at The Underground Unleashed Festival in Darjeeling (India).


1. Intro
2. The Wall of Phantom
3. Under The Sign of the Morning Star
4. May He Rot in Hell
5. Sovereign's Return
6. Man Strikes God Falls
7. Nihil Esse
8. Parvzya
9. Chosen Obituaries
10. Reclaming the Throne* (only on LP version)
11. Triumph of Destruction


Flauros - vocal
Daamr - guitars, bass
Oppressor - guitars, bass
Cymeris - guitars
Senator - drums