[Bands] [News] [Tourdaten] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Kontakt/Impressum]
Home >> Bands >> Archiv >> Crimfall

The Writ Of Sword


Spinefarm Records / Soulfood
01.04.2011 (GER)


Can you say epic?

Spinefarm newcomers Crimfall merge genres from folk to black metal and wrap it up with cinematic expression.

The band describe their sophomore album “The Writ Of Sword” more epic, more grandiose, more extreme and more dramatic than the debut. Leading the listener to new sceneries and seasons; as the debut album’s themes were of fire and summer’s end, the new one takes us amidst the coldest winter and into war with its ruthless reality, devoid of heroes and glory. The album also features many visitors well recognized from Finnish folk metal scene.

Started as Jakke Viitala’s vision, his then one man project Crimfall took its shape in 2007 as siren Helena Haaparanta and growler Mikko Häkkinen joined the project to split the vocals. The 1st album “As The Path Unfolds…” was done with session musicians but after its release in 2009 the line-up stabilized with the addition of drummer Janne Jukarainen and bass player Miska Sipiläinen.

“The Writ Of Sword” was produced by the band itself and the mastering was done by Swedish sound whiz Jens Bogren at Fascination Street studios. The process was tough, but the result outshines its predecessor in every way.

Wearing many a mask, Crimfall’s movie metal eludes easy descriptions. The influence of ancient grim-frost North and its folk metal meets echoes of black metal, but it is all iced with massive orchestration and epic movie soundtrack atmosphere. The melodies convey atmospheres of majesty, adventure and times long forgotten, as the interplay of Mikko’s demonic screams and Helena’s heavenly vocals bring forth the raw, natural feelings and underline the cycle of seasons and the contrast of ascending lights and falling shadows.

Fans of Turisas, Moonsorrow and Finntroll; miss out on this and regret forever.


01. Dicembré
02. Storm Before The Calm
03. Frost upon Their Graves
04. Cáhceravga
05. Shackles Of The Moirai
06. The Writ Of Sword
07. Geaðgái
08. Silver and Bones
09. Son Of North


Jakke Viitala – guitar & orchestra
Mikko Häkkinen – vocals
Helena Haaparanta – vocals
Janne Jukarainen - drums
Miska Sipiläinen - bass


As The Path Unfolds... 2009
The Writ Of Sword 2011

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Datenschutz]