[Bands] [News] [Tourdates] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Contact/Imprint]
Home >> Bands >> Alte Promo >> Aktor



High Roller Records
Distribution: Soulfood


English version:
There is just no stopping Chris “The Professor” Black. With HIGH SPIRITS and DAWNBRINGER he has created some of the best and most unconventional heavy metal music around today. Chris’ newest baby is called AKTOR. To be precise, it is a collaboration between him and two Finish guys, Jussi Lehtisalo and Tomi Leppänen. The busiest man in metal explains: “Jussi Lehtisalo and I got in contact around 2006 and found we had a mutual admiration for each other’s creativity. We traded a lot of music during the next few years and the idea of doing some music together came up fairly early. Jussi Lehtisalo and Tomi Leppänen have made quite a lot of music with CIRCLE, PHARAOH OVERLORD and a lot of other projects. It is a big honor for me to be working with them.”
»Paranoia« is the name of AKTOR’s first album for High Roller Records. “It’s not a concept piece, but much like paranoia I feel that AKTOR’s music should inhabit the early stages of madness,” explains Chris Black the title of the record.
It is fair to say that AKTOR is probably more rooted in 1970's hard rock, including keyboard sounds and hammond, than any other projects Chris Black has been involved in so far. “Yeah definitely,” he agrees. “I think AKTOR incorporates a lot of psychedelic rock and even classic rock compared to my other releases. Jussi and Tomi have a much broader musical taste and experience than myself. In terms of the range of sounds, AKTOR is indeed the most experimental band for me.”
Some of the lyrics to fantastic songs such as “Devil And Doctor”, “Six Silver Suns” or “I Was The Son Of God” do seem very mysterious, pretty psychedelic even. “Yes, there’s a lot of ‘mistaken identity’ going on in the lyrics for this album,” says Chris. “I guess it all goes back to when Motörhead said: ‘One of us is crazy and the other one’s insane.’”

German version:
Chris “The Professor” Black ist einfach nicht zu stoppen. Mit HIGH SPIRITS und DAWNBRINGER war er unlängst für zwei der besten und innovativsten Metal-Alben der letzten Zeit verantwortlich. Sein jüngstes Baby nennt sich nun AKTOR, eine Kollaboration mit den beiden finnischen Musikern Jussi Lehtisalo und Tomi Leppänen. Chris erklärt: “Ich kam mit den beiden zum ersten Male im Jahre 2006 in Kontakt und schnell wurde klar, dass es auf ein gemeinsames musikalisches Projekt hinauslaufen würde. Jussi Lehtisalo und Tomi Leppänen waren vorher bereits mit Bands wie CIRCLE und PHARAOH OVERLORD aktiv. Es ist eine große Ehre für mich, mit ihnen zusammenarbeiten zu dürfen.”
»Paranoia« nennt sich nun also das Debüt-Album von AKTOR. “Es handelt sich nicht um ein Konzeptalbum”, weiß Chris Black zu berichten. “Aber diese Art von Musik ist für viele vielleicht der erste Schritt in den Wahnsinn.”
In der Tat sind Stücke wie “Devil And Doctor”, “Six Silver Suns” oder “The Mover” mehr im Hardrock der 1970er Jahre verwurzelt (inklusive Keyboards und schwerem Hammond-Sound) als alles andere, was “The Professor” bis dato in seinem musikalischen Leben abgeliefert hat. “Das stimmt”, bejaht dieser. “Aktor hat viel vom Psychedelic Rock und auch vom Classic Rock. Jussi und Tom besitzen einen viel breiteren Musikgeschmack als ich. Wenn man so will, dann ist Aktor in der Tat die experimentellste Band meiner bisherigen Karriere.”
Psychedelia und Paranoia, verkörpert in dem Stück “I Was The Son Of God”, alles geht laut Chris Black auf ein Motörhead-Zitat zurück, das den kreativsten Kopf der aktuellen Metal-Szene so nachhaltig geprägt hat: “One of us is crazy and the other one’s insane.”
Kein Wunder also, dass die zehn Stücke von »Paranoia« einer musikalischen Achterbahnfahrt gleichen.


1. Devil and Doctor
2. Gone Again
3. Stop Fooling Around
4. Too Young to Die
5. Six Silver Suns
6. I Was the Son of God
7. Something Nasty
8. Where is Home
9. Never-Ending No
10. The Mover

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Privacy Policy]