[Bands] [News] [Tourdates] [Hell Over Hammaburg] [Contact/Imprint]
Home >> Bands >> Alte Promo >> Air Raid

Fatal Encounter
Facebook / Instagram


High Roller Records


Belonging to the same generation as Ambush, Screamer, Enforcer and Robert Pehrsson’s Humbucker, AIR RAID are currently hailed as one of the most accomplished protagonists of the new wave of traditional Swedish heavy metal.

The band was formed by guitarist Andreas Johansson in Gothenburg in 2009. After a two-track demo in 2011 and a CD EP called »Danger Ahead«, the band’s debut album »Night Of The Axe« saw the light of day in 2012, followed by two more full-length records for the High Roller label: »Point Of Impact« (2014) and the critically acclaimed »Across The Line« (2017).

“»Across The Line« was very well received world wide,” is how Johansson describes the reactions to the third AIR RAID album, which was in 2019 followed by an exclusive 7” single called »Demon's Eye« including two brand new tracks. “The 7” format is not so common anymore, right?,” adds vocalist Fredrik Werner. “I love going to record stores and finding these old singles that often have B-sides that never made the albums. Speaking of »Demon's Eye«, I’d say it was the perfect bridge between »Across The Line« and »Fatal Encounter«.”

As just mentioned, »Fatal Encounter« is the name of AIR RAID’s brand new studio album. Since the 7” single »Demon's Eye«, the band changed their drummer and bass player. As a result, »Fatal Encounter« was recorded by Andy Johansson (guitars), Magnus Mild (guitars), Fredrik Werner (vocals), Jan Ekberg (bass) and William Seidl (drums).

“We worked in a couple of different studios in Gothenburg when tracking this album,” explains guitarist Andy Johansson. “This was partially due to Covid but also because we wanted to try out new things. The writing process went very smoothly as Fredrik and I collaborated on most of the songs.”
“We never had any special sound in mind,” continues Andy, “but more a constant flow of ideas that came together nicely. I prefer to let all songs live their own life and not thinking ‘it has to sound like this or that’. I think this mindset makes our music quite unique among other heavy metal bands.”

“We’ve put down a great deal of effort into »Fatal Encounter«, and I have good faith in that it will take us were we need to go”, is how vocalist Fredrik Werner puts it. “Now we’ll let the music do the talking and we’ll see what the future brings. Nothing is impossible!”

Cover artwork by Jarred Hageman. Mastered by Patrick W. Engel at TEMPLE OF DISHARMONY in October 2022.

"Thunderblood" - Official Lyric Video: https://youtu.be/QXx9X-Z44kU


1. Thunderblood
2. Lionheart
3. In Solitude
4. See The Light
5. Sinfonia
6. Edge Of A Dream
7. Let The Kingdom Burn
8. One By One
9. Pegasus Fantasy


Andreas Johansson - Guitars
Magnus Mild - Guitars
Fredrik Werner - Vocals
Jan Ekberg - Bass
William Seidl - Drums

Download 300dpi printable (4,7 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (2,7 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (4,4 MB)

Download 300dpi printable (647 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (502 kB)

Download 300dpi printable (1,5 MB)

the hard side of life
[Promotion] [Publishing] [Privacy Policy]